One more default sorting order ("grouping").
authorThomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
Tue, 3 Sep 2013 12:55:00 +0000 (14:55 +0200)
committerThomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
Tue, 3 Sep 2013 12:56:17 +0000 (14:56 +0200)
If --group-by is not set, output will be grouped
by month by default (as long as --boundary is
not set to 'level' or 'average', where grouping
by newsgroup is default).

Now we default to 'newsgroup' if just one newsgroup
is requested by --newsgroups, but more than one
month by --month.

Both defaults can be overridden.

But forced --group-by=month for --report type
'average' or 'sum' in front so defaults are
not checked.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
bin/groupstats.pl

index 7a3f7e4..bcb2b61 100755 (executable)
@@ -126,12 +126,17 @@ if ($OptBoundType and $OptBoundType ne 'default') {
 }
 
 ### get sort order and build SQL 'ORDER BY' clause
+# force to 'month' for $OptReportType 'average' or 'sum'
+$OptGroupBy = 'month' if ($OptReportType and $OptReportType ne 'default');
 # default to 'newsgroup' for $OptBoundType 'level' or 'average'
 $OptGroupBy = 'newsgroup' if (!$OptGroupBy and
                               $OptBoundType and $OptBoundType ne 'default');
-# force to 'month' for $OptReportType 'average' or 'sum'
-$OptGroupBy = 'month' if ($OptReportType and $OptReportType ne 'default');
+# default to 'newsgroup' if $OptGroupBy is not set and
+# just one newsgroup is requested, but more than one month
+$OptGroupBy = 'newsgroup' if (!$OptGroupBy and
+                              $OptMonth =~ /:/ and $OptNewsgroups !~ /[:*%]/);
 # parse $OptGroupBy to $GroupBy, create ORDER BY clause $SQLOrderClause
+# if $OptGroupBy is still not set, SQLSortOrder() will default to 'month'
 my ($GroupBy,$SQLOrderClause) = SQLSortOrder($OptGroupBy, $OptOrderBy);
 # $GroupBy will contain 'month' or 'newsgroup' (parsed result of $OptGroupBy)
 # set it to 'month' or 'key' for OutputData()
This page took 0.010536 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.