usenet/newsstats.git
10 years agoFix some typos.
Thomas Hochstein [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 00:18:33 +0000 (01:18 +0100)] 
Fix some typos.

groupsstats.pl: Fix typo in lead-in comment.
groupsstats.pl/NewsStats.pm: Fix typo concerning
GetMaxLength - it isn't 'GetMaxLenght' ...

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogatherstats.pl: Change database update mechanism.
Thomas Hochstein [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 17:51:26 +0000 (18:51 +0100)] 
gatherstats.pl: Change database update mechanism.

DELETE old records and INSERT (INTO) the new ones
instead of just REPLACEing them, which will not
remove wrong entries (i.e. non-existing newsgroups).

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogatherstats.pl: Move TLH check to NewsStats.pm.
Thomas Hochstein [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 16:53:14 +0000 (17:53 +0100)] 
gatherstats.pl: Move TLH check to NewsStats.pm.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogatherstats.pl: Add '-l' option.
Thomas Hochstein [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 16:04:05 +0000 (17:04 +0100)] 
gatherstats.pl: Add '-l' option.

Add '-l' option to check newsgroup names against a list of valid
newsgroups read from a file (each group on one line, ignoring
everything after the first whitespace and so accepting files in
checkgroups format as well as (parts of) an INN active file).
New ReadGroupList().
Change ListNewsgroups() accordingly.
Amend documentation accodingly.

See #17.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogroupstats.pl: Precedence of -m / -p / -a
Thomas Hochstein [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 15:20:05 +0000 (16:20 +0100)] 
groupstats.pl: Precedence of -m / -p / -a

Unset -m if either -p or -a is set,
unset -m if -p is set.

Print caption (-c) for -a, too.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogroupstats.pl: Change default output format to 'pretty'.
Thomas Hochstein [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 14:58:07 +0000 (15:58 +0100)] 
groupstats.pl: Change default output format to 'pretty'.

Change documentation accordingly.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogroupstats.pl: Add '-f' option.
Thomas Hochstein [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 14:57:18 +0000 (15:57 +0100)] 
groupstats.pl: Add '-f' option.

Add '-f' switch to save monthly reports to a file with
a filename made up by adding year and month to template
submitted via '-f filename': filename-YYYY-MM
Modify OutputData() accordingly.
Ignore '-c' if '-f' is set.
Allow & force '-o dump' if '-f' is set even if a time
period is defined.
Change documentation accodingly.

Fixes #27.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogroupstats.pl: Add '-a' option.
Thomas Hochstein [Mon, 1 Nov 2010 12:22:15 +0000 (13:22 +0100)] 
groupstats.pl: Add '-a' option.

Add '-a' switch to make groupstats.pl consider its whole
database without any time limits ignoring -m and -p.
Change documentation accodingly.

First implementation. Handling needs improvement!

Fixes #14.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogroupstats.pl: Improve formatting of output.
Thomas Hochstein [Sun, 31 Oct 2010 21:44:00 +0000 (22:44 +0100)] 
groupstats.pl: Improve formatting of output.

Rewrite captions.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogroupstats.pl: Improve automatic adaption of output type.
Thomas Hochstein [Sun, 31 Oct 2010 21:00:16 +0000 (22:00 +0100)] 
groupstats.pl: Improve automatic adaption of output type.

If time period is more than on month, switch from dump
to dumpgroup, if possible (just one newsgroup submitted
via -n), and switch to pretty only if that fails.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogroupstats.pl: Redo level (-l) query, gain speedup.
Thomas Hochstein [Sun, 31 Oct 2010 20:43:18 +0000 (21:43 +0100)] 
groupstats.pl: Redo level (-l) query, gain speedup.

Do the work in the application, using two separate SQL
queries, instead of trying to optimize the single
query in vain ...

Thanks to Juliane. :)

Fixes #16.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogroupstats.pl: Improve comments.
Thomas Hochstein [Sun, 31 Oct 2010 20:39:20 +0000 (21:39 +0100)] 
groupstats.pl: Improve comments.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogroupstats.pl: Refactor query handling.
Thomas Hochstein [Sun, 31 Oct 2010 20:34:04 +0000 (21:34 +0100)] 
groupstats.pl: Refactor query handling.

Don't misuse variables:
- Push other binding vars to (new) @Params instead of
  filling up @GroupList with things it wasn't meant for.
- Replace generic @QueryPart by @QueryGroupList and
  @QueryThreshold, then build $WhereClause from that.
- Don't use $OrderClause for setting level (more or
  less than x), use (new) $Level instead.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoinstall.pl: Change handling of upgrades.
Thomas Hochstein [Sun, 19 Sep 2010 14:53:07 +0000 (16:53 +0200)] 
install.pl: Change handling of upgrades.

Drop predefined actions in favor of arbitrary statements.
Minor code fixup.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoREADME: Fix spelling, small changes.
Thomas Hochstein [Sun, 19 Sep 2010 11:34:27 +0000 (13:34 +0200)] 
README: Fix spelling, small changes.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogatherstats.pl: Add documentation of 'disregard' to POD.
Thomas Hochstein [Sun, 19 Sep 2010 11:32:12 +0000 (13:32 +0200)] 
gatherstats.pl: Add documentation of 'disregard' to POD.

Database entries in DBTableRaw marked 'disregard' will
be ignored by gatherstats. Document that.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agofeedlog.pl: Fix annoying logging error.
Thomas Hochstein [Sun, 19 Sep 2010 11:27:28 +0000 (13:27 +0200)] 
feedlog.pl: Fix annoying logging error.

warn() output to errlog was not activated by '-d' debug
switch, but on by default and just deactivated by '-d'.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoNewsStats.pm: Fix $VERSION and $PackageVersion.
Thomas Hochstein [Sat, 18 Sep 2010 22:21:42 +0000 (00:21 +0200)] 
NewsStats.pm: Fix $VERSION and $PackageVersion.

Set to 0.01 from 0.1

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoinstall.pl: Fix installation instructions.
Thomas Hochstein [Sat, 18 Sep 2010 22:21:12 +0000 (00:21 +0200)] 
install.pl: Fix installation instructions.

Example newsfeeds entry was missing a backslash
(had to be quoted).

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogroupstats.pl: More input validation.
Thomas Hochstein [Sat, 18 Sep 2010 19:59:13 +0000 (21:59 +0200)] 
groupstats.pl: More input validation.

Set -o to 'pretty' for time periods.
Set -b to 10 if < 1.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoAdd upgrade path.
Thomas Hochstein [Sat, 18 Sep 2010 17:02:46 +0000 (19:02 +0200)] 
Add upgrade path.

NewsStats.pm: Add $PackageVersion.

install.pl: Modularise program flow to subroutines.
            Add framework for database upgrade and
            upgrade instructions.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoIntroduce end-of-line normalization and add .gitattributes.
Thomas Hochstein [Sat, 18 Sep 2010 16:45:20 +0000 (18:45 +0200)] 
Introduce end-of-line normalization and add .gitattributes.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoAdd comments and POD.
Thomas Hochstein [Fri, 17 Sep 2010 19:53:59 +0000 (21:53 +0200)] 
Add comments and POD.

Add comments NewsStats.pm
Add POD to install.pl
Add POD to feedlog.pl
Add POD and comments to gatherstats.pl
Add POD and comments to groupstats.pl, beautify code

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoAdd documentation.
Thomas Hochstein [Fri, 17 Sep 2010 19:16:51 +0000 (21:16 +0200)] 
Add documentation.

Add doc/
Add doc/README
Add doc/INSTALL

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agogroupstats.pl: Add handling of incompatible command line options.
Thomas Hochstein [Sat, 18 Sep 2010 00:12:58 +0000 (02:12 +0200)] 
groupstats.pl: Add handling of incompatible command line options.

-t/-l/-b are incompatible. Print warning, let -l take precedence
over -t and -b over both.

-q/-d are incompatible with -l and -b. Print warning, ignore
them.

For -l, only -o 'pretty' makes sense. Force that.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoinstall.pl: Fix chdir.
Thomas Hochstein [Fri, 17 Sep 2010 21:04:46 +0000 (23:04 +0200)] 
install.pl: Fix chdir.

Don't use path from current working directory, use path
relative to $0 instead.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoNewsStats.pm: Warn when -p takes precedence over -m.
Thomas Hochstein [Fri, 17 Sep 2010 20:26:56 +0000 (22:26 +0200)] 
NewsStats.pm: Warn when -p takes precedence over -m.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoAdd .gitignore
Thomas Hochstein [Fri, 17 Sep 2010 12:29:29 +0000 (14:29 +0200)] 
Add .gitignore

Ignore tools/, tools/* and newsstats.conf.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoInitial checkin of working branch.
Thomas Hochstein [Fri, 17 Sep 2010 11:50:58 +0000 (13:50 +0200)] 
Initial checkin of working branch.

Checkin of
- NewsStats.pm
- install/install.pl
- feedlog.pl
- gatherstats.pl
- groupstats.pl

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
10 years agoInitial checkin.
Thomas Hochstein [Fri, 17 Sep 2010 11:49:29 +0000 (13:49 +0200)] 
Initial checkin.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Hochstein <thh@inter.net>
This page took 0.015329 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.